the new & improved W.

As this years massive September issues started filling newsstand shelves, I was most excited to get my hands on the new issue of W. Stefano Tonchi’s first issue as editor-in-chief of the large format fashion title has been much anticipated not only by myself but by much all of the publishing and fashion worlds.

Courtesy of W

Tonchi’s new vision for the magazine focuses less on image heavy editorial and short news blurbs pulled from WWD and more on giving readers something to actually read. Tonchi has given the publication a complete overhaul, starting with a sophisticated new typeface for the “W” and a cover tag-line reading: Who, What, Where, When and Why in the World of Style. [Note: I am ecstatic that Tonchi did not tamper with the size of the title. I absolutely adore large format magazines and to be honest wish everything was the size of W. Who said bigger isn’t better?]

The overall redesign of the magazine is really fantastic. I love the clean typeface and find it to be much more representative of the publications overall message and new image. Chic, sophisticated and witty.

And now, a break down of the new W

Who: The usual newsy bits are still present in the “Who” section along with a fun visual on “Chic Cliques.”

What: CAN WE PLEASE TALK ABOUT THE AMAZING PHOTOGRAPH OF THAT GAP-TOOTHED POUT ON PAGE 214?! Dying. The section is full of brilliant and eye-catching photography. Le sigh. The “What” section also includes a few pages of blurbs on new designs and products for fall.

Where: Definitely the most text heavy section of the new issue (outside of the features), with pieces on the L.E.S art scene and a South African winery. The layouts here are the perfect balance of words, images and white space. I love white space.

Why: From plastic surgery to fall must-read’s, this culture packed section has it all.

When: I adore the “calendar” style layout to this section.

Features: “Tisci’s Tribe” stole my heart.  But then again, I am a sucker for anything Givenchy. Lara Stone and Georgia May?! Okay, I just bought a second issue so I can tear out all of these images and hang them on my wall.

I had to admit, I am not a W subscriber. I have always picked up the issues on newsstands, but not always every month. All that is about to change. Stefano, I am sold.

Leave a Reply

  • tweet tweet tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

