fall 2010 shopping list.

September issues are pouring in and I can’t help but salivate all over the glossy pages filled with fall goodies. Although it will be hot in New York for a while yet, I can’t help but start planning my cool weather wardrobe out in my head. [You can expect me to be totally decked in fall apparel come NYFW, even though the runways will be filled with beachy knits and swimwear.] Here is what is on my shopping list for fall:

1. Motorcycle Jacket

I don’t know if I can pull off the cool look of the motorcycle jacket, but this fall I am determined to try. I am obsessed with this one from Burberry –the shearling makes it. The best part? The look is available at every price point imaginable–I think I will be test driving a Target version first!

Photo courtesy of Style.com.

2. The Perfect Black Skinny Pants

I dread shopping for pants. I try to avoid it by all costs, which explains why I still don’t have the staple skinny black pant in my wardrobe. I am going to suck it up this fall and hunt for the perfect pair. I got a little eager today and tried on the Really Skinny at the Gap. So comfortable, a great fit and budget friendly. I think I will be going back to pick up a pair or two!

3. Mongolian Lamb Wool Vest

Last winter I added a perfect vintage mink cropped jacket to my wardrobe, so this fall I am dying for a Mongolian lamb vest. I love this one from J.Crew, however it is currently sold out online. I plan to keep my eye out for an equally chic version–preferably in black or a warm caramel brown […and preferably for under $300].

Photo courtesy of J.Crew.

4. A New Black Boot

I know I want a new boot for the fall, but I have to be honest and say I have no idea what style I am looking for. Over the knee? Ankle? Heel? Flat? There are so many options this season, it is a bit overwhelming. I am sure whatever I end up with will be love at first sight.

5. Leopard Print

I have always been a fan of leopard print and this fall is no exception– leopard is the new black. While I would love to be rocking this leopard Dries Van Noten vest, my bank account prefers these pony hair ballet flats from Banana Republic.

Photo courtesy of Style.com.

6. Spanx Reversible Tight-End Tights

I plan on buying dozens upon dozens of pairs of tights this fall. During a recent trip to Journelle, I was told that the Spanx Reversible Tight-End Tight is a must-have. I am always looking for something super opaque, and my friends tell me that this double layer tight is the ultimate. I plan on buying them in Black/Midnight Navy.

7. Gaga’s Perfect Nails

The second I picked up my September issue of Vanity Fair I knew I had to have Lady Gaga’s nail polish from the cover, Waking Up in Vegas by Deborah Lippmann Collection. It is the perfect milky gray. I just ordered a bottle and I cannot wait to get it on my hands. I will be wearing it constantly!

Photo courtesy of Deborah Lippmann Collection.

8. A Leather Tee

I am still a big fan of this spring trend [and still drooling over the Celine version] but I am thinking I will be  little more comfortable sporting it in cooler weather.

9. Orange Red Lips à la Jenni Kayne

The A/W Jenni Kayne presentation was one of my favorites last season. Not only did I swoon over the chic pieces [Remember the green leather shift? Total perfection] but I couldn’t get over the perfect orange-red lips the models were sporting. Right now I am loving Revlon’s Super Lustrous Creme in Coral-Berry 674. It is not overly orange, which works best for my skin tone.

Photo courtesy of Moi.

10. Jewel Tone Pant

Normally, I am not a pop of color kind of girl but times are a changin’ [ I scored a fantastic vintage Equipment blouse in melon-orange last time I was in Minneapolis and plan on wearing it constantly this fall]. I am excited to throw a wild card into my all black wardrobe and a jewel-toned pant is the perfect choice. I am on the look out for anything purple, blue or SUNO this fall.

11. Lace Shorts


I am longing for a pair of winter white lace shorts. I plan to pair them with super opaque tights, a fitted tee and a boyfriend blazer for maximum chic power. I spotted a divine pair at H&M the other week. Here is to hoping they are still on the shelf somewhere in my size!

Photo courtesy of H&M, shorts $24.95.

12. A New Fragrance

I think the time has come for me to find a new signature scent. I have been wearing Chanel for the past eight years [Chanel Chance was my staple for forever and I recently have been wearing Les Exclusifs No. 18]. I really want something woody and spicy for fall. I do believe a trip to Le Labo is in my future…

What are you shopping for?

Comments
2 Responses to “fall 2010 shopping list.”
  1. zachdeblaey says:

    Alex, while I respect your selection from Ms. Lippmann’s collection, after much thought I have decided that I think a better option for you would be either Happy Birthday (it is a party in a bottle, after all) or Bitches Brew (it says “don’t fuck with me”).

    Just my suggestion.

    Best,

    Zach

  2. alexandraandthecity says:

    Dear Zach,

    Thank you so much for your input regarding my fall nail polish color selection! Unfortunately I will not be taking your suggestions under consideration.

    All the best,

    Alexandra

Leave a Reply

