welcome to manhattan, target.

When I moved back to New York in June, I was ecstatic to find that there would be a Target opening on the island. No more trips to the Bronx for this girl to get that red and khaki fix! I headed to the new store today because I was excited to check out the designer collaboration collections by Isabel and Ruben Toledo, Stephen Burrows and Dolce Vita. The new store is a beauty. Its clean, organized and well, Target. I made a bee-line to the women’s apparel section to check out the pieces by Burrows and the Toledos…

I loved the color-blocked dresses by Burrows, even though they probably won’t be making it inside of my closet. They were fun and bright and oh-so Harlem [and everything is under $34.99].

My adoration for the work of both Isabel and Ruben Toledo was sparked after checking out the Museum at FIT’s exhibit “Isabel Toledo: Fashion from the Inside Out” last summer. I had always been a fan of Ruben Toldedo’s illustrations, remember these fantastic Nordstrom advertisements?

The collection, predominately swimwear, is really fantastic but it was the Oxford Face beach towel ($24.99) that made its way into my shopping cart. I am so in love with it and plan on hanging it on my wall in my new apartment. It is far too fabulous to actually be used as a towel!

And lastly, I stopped in the shoe department to check out the new collaboration with Dolce Vita. I snagged a perfect pair of studded ballet flats that I am sure I will wear to the ground this fall. The collection also includes studded oxfords and boots. Again, everything is under $34.99!

If you are in the New York City area, I suggest heading to Target as soon as possible. These designer collaborations launched early at the Manhattan store and won’t hit other Target locations until August 1st. Happy shopping!

Photos courtesy of Target and Nordstrom.

Leave a Reply

