summer reading list

I am back in New York City for another summer, which means lazy weekends in the park and the daily commute to Soho via the D train. And what better way to spend time [both above and below ground] than with a good book…or five. Here is what I am reading this summer:

  • The End of Fashion by Teri Agins. I just started this one the other morning on my way to work and I cannot put it down. Agins discusses the changes of the fashion industry over the last 20+ years by showcasing the trials and triumphs of great designers.
  • A Beautiful Fall by Alicia Drake. Okay, I admit, I started this one last summer. But I never finished it [spent too much time drooling at Barney’s] so I am going at it again. Drake writes about the careers of Yves Saint Laurent and Karl Lagerfeld in a way that feels a little bit like you are reading a high-society gossip column…but better.

I will need a library card to tackle these next books:

  • Chic Savages by John Fairchild. What is not to love about gossip from WWD‘s publisher John Fairchild? Nothing. [Oh, and its on Amazon for $0.83…so…]
  • D.V. by Diana Vreeland. And what is not to love about an autobiography from Vogue‘s former editor-in-chief Diana Vreeland? Absolutely nothing.
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote. I feel like this is required reading for New York City.
  • My Life in France by Julia Child. I love food. And I love Paris.

I am so predictable.

Leave a Reply

