designer crush: SUNO

I know this is not the first time I’ve mentioned Suno, one of my favorite fall collections I saw in New York, but I can’t get the patterns, colors and textures out of my head! My friends and I were already at Milk Studios when we found ourselves drawn to the seriously packed room that was home to the collection…and it was love at first sight. From the Whoville-esque hair and make-up to the playful and flirty pieces, this collection was the whole package. It comes as a surprise to many of my friends that I was so drawn to this collection (my everyday wardrobe features black, black, more black) but deep down inside I am a sucker for a wild, loud, bright patterns. And like every girly-girl, I have a love affair with sequins.

The A/W 2010 collection was inspired by the late 1960s American interiors, traditional East African textiles, Kilmt (my favorite artist!) and travels to Turkey, Paris and India.

Favorite Looks & Standout Pieces

I adored the pattern mixing throughout the collection. I loved the Ikat print jackets with traditional patterned skirts and flowing blouses. The grey tights made my heart race, as they would for any girl hosiery addict. I thought the mix in silhouettes was refreshing, leggings, draped trousers and harem style pants were all present and accounted for in the 23 looks. The lines and cuts in the tops and dresses were a clear reflection of the 1960s interiors that inspired the collection. I thought the peacock feather patterned column skirt was beyond words divine. It was sexy, feminine and flirty without having your goodies spilling out. So many of the dresses would transition seamlessly from day to night, and in this economy, nothing is better than being versatile. The last piece I want to gush about: SEQUIN LEOPARD PATTERN LEGGINGS. Excuse me while I wipe the drool from my mouth.

Check out some of my photos from the presentation. [Full looks available on Style.com]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About the Designer

Max Osterweis is the man behind the brilliant garments. The line was formed in 2008 after Osterweis spent more than a decade collecting textiles from Kenya. The concept behind Suno was to “build a successful and visible company that employs local Kenyan talent and treats workers fairly” with an end goal of positive and lasting social and economic change. All of the garments are designed in New York City but are produced in small workshops in Kenya- how cool is that? Not only are the clothes undeniably chic but they are supporting an even greater cause!

Suno is available at Opening Ceremony.

Leave a Reply

