by all means, move at a glacial pace…

I always watched The Devil Wears Prada and thought “This is crazy! That would never happen!”

I was wrong. I have not been asked to get a copy of the unfilmed seventh Harry Potter movie yet, but I wouldn’t be too surprised. Ha ha. You do some very random, strange things. And some people are not nice at all. Which is why Andy Sachs was so lucky to have Nigel to go crying to and then get her some size 6 Chanel. Sometimes you just want to cry. 

Coming from the land of “Minnesota Nice,” New York has been a total wake-up call. And really, I am not even that nice. Material status is everything. Who you know is everything. Actually applying for an internship is completely unheard of.

Scene: Sample Closet

Intern 1: So, how did you get this internship?

Moi: Um…I applied? I called, sent in a resume, had an interview, was offered a job, you know…

Intern 1: Ohhh…really. Well, that’s nice for you.

Intern 2: I hope to use my parents connections to get jobs for the rest of my life.

Moi: *Vomits on couture*

If anything, I am not only learning a lot about the fashion industry, but also about myself. And about what kind of a person I am and want to be. It’s really a win-win situation. 

In other news, my life is pretty glamorous despite having no money and living 120 blocks from the rest of civilization. Thanks to my wonderfully fabulous roommate, I get to be his date to fun events. Cynthia Rowley’s Gypset book party for example. Last Sunday we attended the “Hommage to Caruso” dinner hosted by Esquire on the 44th floor of the Hearst building. The view alone was worth it all. Stunning views of the park and surrounding areas. It was a dream. We were served an incredible four-course Italian meal, made with recipes from the 1920s. I sat next to Esquire‘s fashion director, Nick Sullivan. At first I was completely intimidated, but luckily we were able to share stories about recent trips to Europe and the structuring of fashion week presentations overseas. The dinner was a kick-off as a part of Market Week for the design house Caruso. The Italian house makes the most beautiful suits I have ever seen in my entire life. Eat your heart out Tom Ford fans, this suit was stunning. I don’t really remember anything the company president had to say because I was in a complete and total suit trance. 

Tomorrow is the big day when the NYFW schedule will be announced. Should be interesting considering the MAC and Milk Studios new endeavor offering a FREE space to show your collection in. Recession-chic fashion week?

Leave a Reply

